I LOVE being a mom! No amount of money or fame would ever reach the value of memories of racing through amusement parks, tears from wounded hearts, separating limbs during a sibling fight, or cleaning up the daily unexpected, or more often, expected mess from the latest class report. My kids are living, breathing, creative examples of my finest creations and nothing will ever compare to their love and light.

Don’t get me wrong, there are many days when being a mom is the toughest job I have, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Being a mom who is an art director brings it own set of challenges. When class report time comes along, there is a certain level of excellence that I demand from my kids. I’m not talking about perfection in drawing skills, faultless writing or even just coloring within the lines. No, my expectation is a little simpler than that. The only demand that I am strict on is that my kids use their full resources and don’t settle for the easy solution just to be done.

This week was a particular taxing week with three written reports and 2 large presentations all due within 3 days. This was my first year helping out with a Science Fair Project. Now I realize I must have created my own when I was in fifth grade, but for the life of me I have no memory of what I did. All the parents were warned a couple months ago this would be a significant time guzzler. It was all that and more. In one weekend not only did my son complete his presentation board, but he also wrote a four-page paper. I will admit I did need to help him with typing otherwise I may still be waiting for him to finish.

Following the year’s science fair report came a country report on Ecuador complete with cooking and delivering potato cakes for everyone in the class. Finally, today the last project was turned in and it was a “Mission Accomplished.”

Today I celebrate the most passionate and creative choice I make each day…to help my children learn to be resourceful, patient and to realize their vision no matter what it takes. I may be an overcritical art director in the process, but I’m proud to set an example and high bar of excellence for them to reach towards.

