Weekends usually become a double-edged sword for me. Of course I absolutely LOVE the dedicated time spent with family and friends. Weekends are for play-dates with the kids, visiting with mom, going to the movies, heck I even enjoy catching up on housework and running errands for birthday parties and school projects. When Sunday night hits, the kids and I catch our favorite television show “Once Upon A Time” then while they’re off to bed. I usually catch another hour or two of TV. The DVR collects for me American Idol, Dancing With The Stars, Saturday Night Live or The Apprentice (another bullet dodged and good topic for a future blog post).

I wind myself down pretty good during those 48+ hours. I rarely think about business, or the mountain of commitments awaiting me for Monday morning. I slow down. I slow WAAAAY down. Sometimes I slow down so much I don’t even know how I’ll pick up momentum again. Monday morning awaits and I need to be at the top of my game, focused, attentive and fully committed to business again.

I’ve thought a lot about the concept of transformation lately and how much energy change takes from all of us. I know that when I stay up very late on a Sunday evening I’m trying to expand time, trying to make that weekend last just a little longer. Monday morning is a transformation whether I like it or not. It’s a switch in frame of mind from home presence to business minded, from the housekeeper to the industry leader, from the sleep-in-no-makeup-lounge-in-sweats-mom to the speak-my-authentic-voice-because-I’m-the-best-creative-director-in-entertainment-marketing-boss. The transition can be exhausting! By the time Monday noontime hits if someone asks me what I did over the weekend, I‘ve often forget – like it’s another lifetime ago, This weekend business, I LOVE you but you’re a tease!

So today I wrapped myself in doing-nothingness, and made my best attempt to enjoy every second. Tomorrow my world will once again turn upside down so in honor of this topsy-turvy world, my son and I created our first Pineapple Upside Down cake. If tomorrow turns out half as good as our creation, then I’m in store for a real treat.

 

