Tags

, ,

Every once in awhile an artist connects with us. Whether it be the subject matter in a sculpture, the painting of light on a canvas, the pulse of feet gliding across the floor or the cadence of a rhyme in a musical performance, the artistry touches our hearts and raises our emotions.

I consider myself a champion of all art form. Often times the connection I feel to an artist is painfully healing. What I mean by that is that the raw emotion of the artist, the work and their message cuts right into flesh, burns past muscle, shatters through bones to soothe an aching heart.

Today I focus a lens over the brilliant artistry of songwriter and musician Jason Mraz. Today, through his lyrics, I discovered a healing power within my distinct voice and a commitment to find and live by my passion.

Below are just a few lyrics from songs that cut to my core.

If this life is one act, why do we lay all these traps

We put them right in our path, when we just wanna be free

I will not waste my days, making up all kinds of ways

To worry about all the things, that will not happen to me

So I just let go of what I know I don’t know

And I know I only do this by Living in the moment.

When I look into your eyes
It’s like watching the night sky
Or a beautiful sunrise
There’s so much they hold
And just like them old stars
I see that you’ve come so far
To be right where you are
How old is your soul?

I won’t give up on us
Even if the skies get rough
I’m giving you all my love
I’m still looking up

‘Cause even the stars they burn
Some even fall to the earth
We’ve got a lot to learn
God knows we’re worth it
No, I won’t give up
I don’t wanna be someone who walks away so easily
I’m here to stay and make the difference that I can make

