Tags

, , , ,

Discover your authentic self.

Live your legend.

Practice self love. Release the self critic.

Move from ego to essence.

Create a transformation.

Access the power of now.

Live and share your true story.

Manifest your dreams.

Start with why.

Live your purpose.

Maybe it’s this journey I am on. Perhaps it’s the nature of where my observational lens is focused. Or, could it be there is something bigger afoot in our oversaturated, technologically spoiled and gluttonous culture? The messages listed above have pervaded my readings, email, conversations, Facebook feeds for months. Today, they have begun to merge into one message, one giant quest to stop searching for meaning on the outside, stop subscribing to the stories I tell myself and start listening past my thoughts to the quiet truths found in presence.

Eckhart Tolle believes that the thinking mind creates ego. We believe in every thought that this thinking mind creates and repeats from others. Before long we derive our sense of self from it. Tonight my daughter had a thought stuck in her head. From my perspective it was silly, but to her it was defining her sense of self, fairness and truth. I attempted every arrow, every distraction, every tactic in my arsenal to pull her mind away and focus on her positive strengths. I tried physical distraction by holding her. I asked questions about a her favorite activities. I also spent many minutes simple listening to her inconsolable crying. What eventually worked was when I bargained with her mind by offering a foot massage. My tapping into the pathway to stillness, presence becomes the best medicine for nearly any ailment…emotional, mental or physical.

Humans like to create stories in our head, especially those of us who are naturally creative. Soon, we identify with these thoughts. They fuse together and become our ego. Tolle says “Freedom comes when we realize we are not the thought…we are the awareness of the thoughts.” Most of us, like my daughter, and believe me the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree, get stuck with this self critical, hostile energy in our head. We attack ourselves. We tell ourselves stories. We don’t see things as they are, we see things as we are. We have selective perception and single point perspective. Our reality manifests itself across the theater screen of our ego’s screenplay. I believe the space inside us, at the intermission between these acts of a play, is presence.

Today I have created a tiny, almost infinitesimal smidgen of light shining on this ego and brightening a pathway to peace and presence for I know that is the pathway that will lead me to Move from ego to essence, discover my authentic self, share my true story, manifest my dreams and live my purpose.

“It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all.”
~J.K. Rowling

