Tags

, , , , ,

If someone had told me 5 years ago that every month I would spend hours on the dance floor just for the fun of it, I would have said they had the wrong girl. Today, nothing makes me happier than spending time with my extended ballroom dance family. The camaraderie, unconditional support, and shared love of the arts has blessed me in ways I could never have imagined. And to make it even better…I have the privilege to share this with my children. Our appreciation and love for music, theater, dance, and the visual arts have created a strong and nourishing bond like an invisible umbilical cord. On those days when any one of us is faced with a new challenge or fear of the unknown, we thrust ourselves into song. We drag our bodies up and out of the dulldrums to shake our hips to the latest radio hits, or Wii game. We grab a few supplies from the bounty of paint, canvas, beads and duct tape to craft some new grand creation.

If I only have one gift to bestow upon my family it‘s that as my children mature and are thrown into the transformation of life, they never forget the healing powers of creative expression. I pray that no teacher, boss or other superior leads them in a direction where creativity is not the most valuable lesson, most rewarded attribute and most revered leadership quality.

Today I celebrate the often small, sometimes significant choices I make to help my children embrace their creative gifts.

