Tags

, , , , , ,

On dark days, in challenging times, during intense personal coaching sessions, I’ve been asked what I believe in, what I want and what is my passion. Most day’s this became a very challenging question to answer. I used to say I want it all – well that’s the gluttonous Enneagram Seven speaking. I used to say I believe in art – that’s my education speaking. I used to say my passion is solving problems – that’s my career speaking. Today, the answers come easier and clearer as I listen more intently to the serendipitous relationships, seemingly chance opportunities and an uncanny alignment of events. After three years of shedding, burning and letting go, my beliefs, desires and passion are fusing together into my calling – and it’s glorious!

Today I enjoyed a wonderful conversation with a devoted group of highly talented authors, artists and educators. They had invited me into their group as consultant and trusted advisor to share my marketing expertise and perspective as a fellow artist and educator. My heart raced! My mind was dizzy with new ideas. And my words spilled out in great enthusiasm for their cause. As part of our conversation I began asking those same questions and later opened up an insightful dialogue to help them excavate the common beliefs, desires and passion which will become the foundation of their business.

Here’s just a sampling of what came out of our discussion. How many of these desires are consistent with your own. Try answering the question “what do I want” 20, 50, 100 times and discover what your heart truly desires.

I want success.

I want to work with good people on fun projects.

I want success by working with good people working on fun projects.

I want my family to be proud of me.

I want to feel free from financial burdens.

I want to support my family by doing something I love.

I want to make a positive difference.

I want people to say after I’ve died “now what are we gonna do now that he’s gone?”

I want to affect culture in a positive way.

I want my existence to mean something.

I want to be in control of my own life and livelihood.

I want to honor God.

I want my friends to be proud of me.

I want to be a good friend.

I want justice in the world.

I want to take care of my wife.

I want to live without regrets.

I want financial freedom to do whatever I want.

I want to raise my kids the way I think they should be.

I want to travel.

I want to donate money and my time.

I want kids.

I want the resources to spend more time with my family.

I want to be a super hero.

I want my kids to be proud of what I do and how I make a difference.

I want to live an existence where I don‘t have to compromise my value

