Tags

, , , ,

I was chatting with a friend of mine today about what it means to be adventurous. My personality, my creative choices and my business positioning each embody this simple noun used to define stories and experiences so I better be able to articulate it. I began by saying a few relative terms – looking ahead, being spontaneous, curious, carefree and fearless.

“Being adventurous,” I said “is exactly like sky diving.” You know that eventually, God-willing, the chute will open and you’ll land safely back on the ground – so our physical bodies don’t really change. Sure our hearts may pump a little faster for awhile, but we’re still the same being. The destination doesn’t change. It’s exactly the same as it was before the jump as it is after. A diver simply sees it from a different perspective. So if the adventure is not in the person or in arriving at a destination, it must be in the leap of faith, the letting go of control for the sake of the journey.

The adventure is not in the landing, but in the fall.

And if you don’t believe me just ask anyone who’s stepped one foot off “sure” ground. I see her every morning in the mirror.

